Space
Now Reading
NASA sends InSight lander to Mars for first geological survey
0

NASA sends InSight lander to Mars for first geological survey

by nepbytesMay 22, 2018

NASA launched the InSight Lander spacecraft on a six-month journey to Mars to study the Red Planet. InSight is scheduled to land on the Red Planet around 3 p.m. EST (noon PST) Nov. 26, where it will conduct science operations until Nov. 24, 2020, which equates to one year and 40 days on Mars, or nearly two Earth years.

Launched: May 5, 2018 (4:05 a.m. PDT/7:05 a.m. EDT)
Launch Vehicle: Atlas V-401
Launch Location: Vandenberg Air Force Base, California
Landing: Nov. 26, 2018
Landing Site: Elysium Planitia, Mars
Mission Duration: A little over 1 Mars year (~2 Earth years); 708 Sols (Mars days), or 728 Earth days
What's your reaction?
Love It
0%
Interested
0%
Meh...
0%
What?
0%
Hate It
0%
Sad
0%
hahaha
0%
About The Author
nepbytes

Leave a Response